Skip to main content

County DPW Logo


The Cattaraugus County Department of Public Works Refuse Division operates seven waste transfer stations throughout the county, employing more than 20 full and part time employees.  The Refuse Coordinator manages the daily operations involving the collection, transportation, and disposal of an average of 29 tons of waste per day.  Operating on a budget of more than $1.5M, the Refuse Division takes advantage of several State and Federal opportunities to reduce costs to county residents while seeking industry best practices that drive sustainability.

The Refuse Division has recycling programs and holds Household Hazardous Waste collections throughout the year in Cattaraugus County.  Check out upcoming disposal & collection dates.

The 2024 Holiday Schedule for County Transfer Stations:

  • On Monday, January 1 all stations closed.
  • On Monday, January 15 all stations closed.
  • On Monday, February 19 all stations closed.
  • On Monday, May 27 all stations closed.
  • On Thursday, July 4 all stations closed.
  • On Monday, September 2 all stations closed.
  • On Monday, October 14 all stations closed.
  • On Monday, November 11 all stations closed.
  • On Thursday, November 28 all stations closed.
  • On Friday, November 29 the Allegany, Five Points, Portville and Salamanca transfer stations will be open.
  • On Wednesday, December 25 all stations closed.