Skip to main content


Lois Bobseine Eaton Recipient of the 2004 Brooks Patterson Community Leadership Award

The Cattaraugus County Planning Board's theme for this award is "People Are Our Greatest Resource". In this spirit, we present the Brooks Patterson Community Leadership Award for the Year 2004 in memory of:

For outstanding leadership in community planning and development and for the creation in 1961 of the County Planning Board and Planning Department.

Founder, Member and Chair of the County Planning Board - Mrs. Eaton served on the Cattaraugus County Board of Supervisors from January 1960 to December 1967 as the first elected female Supervisor in Cattaraugus County for the Town of Otto, during which time she led the fight to create professional planning services within county government.

As Chairman of the original Planning Committee of the Cattaraugus County Board of Supervisors, she sponsored the resolution that created the Cattaraugus County Planning Board and the County's Planning Department in 1961.

Mrs. Eaton served on the Cattaraugus County Planning Board from January 10, 1968 to July 31, 1993 and was Chairman from February 1976 to December 1982. As Chair, she defended the quality of life for residents of Cattaraugus County, and set an example for improving the quality of life and the future for Cattaraugus County and its people.

Community Volunteer - Mrs. Eaton was a founding member and president of the Cattaraugus County Women's Republican Club and actively served her community as a fund drives volunteer for the American Cancer Society, the American Red Cross, and the March of Dimes, and was chairman of the Tri-County Hospital Auxiliary for the Town of Otto, and a member of the Home Bureau. She was a former president of the Parent Teacher Association, and American Field Service coordinator at Cattaraugus Central School, and youth activities advocate.

Education/Employment - Mrs. Eaton was a graduate of Bryant and Stratton Business Institute in Buffalo, and was employed by the Bank of Cattaraugus and the ASCS offices of Cooperative Extension in Ellicottville.

Family - Mrs. Eaton is survived by three daughters: Gale L. Bobseine of Ellicottville, Greta Bobseine of Chautauqua, and Gwen L. Colton of Great Valley; a son, Gary L. Bobseine of Cattaraugus; nine grandchildren; two great-grandchildren; one brother, Bud Besecker of Virginia; and two sisters, Dorothy Nelson of California, and Winifred Mabry of Indiana.

In Memory - The County Planning Board honors Lois Bobseine Eaton, who passed away on January 24, 2004 at the age of 85, as the "Founder of Planning in Cattaraugus County" and for her valuable contributions as a member and Chairman of the County Planning Board with this Brooks Patterson Community Leadership Award.